Plymouth Civic League

In 1972, Mayor Al Hilde, Jr. and the Plymouth City Council formed a citizen committee, the Plymouth Civic League (PCL) to bring a free concert of the Minnesota Orchestra to Plymouth. The purpose of the committee was to focus on raising community spirit in a sleepy suburb. The mission of Music in Plymouth, featuring the Minnesota Orchestra, is to bring the community together for an evening of high quality entertainment designed to enrich the lives of our diverse citizenry. Music in Plymouth has been the premiere summer event in Plymouth since its inception 45 years ago.  From the first years, when the event was held on vacant land within the Minneapolis Industrial Park to today’s state of the art Hilde Performance Center in Plymouth Creek Park, Music in Plymouth has grown with our community and helped Plymouth develop a rich sense of identity and community pride. Over the years, this annual signature event has expanded to include a broad range of family-focused entertainment, including a spectacular fireworks display choreographed to music.  The event is now eagerly anticipated each year by more than 15,000 people from Plymouth and surrounding communities.

The PCL’s volunteer Board of Directors is composed of citizens and business people whose primary objective is to promote and carry forward the mission of Music in Plymouth.  PCL board members raise all the funds necessary to produce this annual event in cooperation and partnership with the City of Plymouth.  Plymouth is widely considered to be one of the most desirable communities in the Twin Cities metro area in which to live – Music in Plymouth contributes to that reputation.

Music in Plymouth Award

The Music in Plymouth Award was created in 2012 to recognize individuals, groups or companies that have made significant contributions to the ongoing success of the event.

The 2018 recipient of the Music in Plymouth Award was Kennedy Vision Health Center. During the early years of Music in Plymouth, community leaders including Drs. Kennedy and Strehle, Plymouth optometrists, joined Mayor Al Hilde, Jr. in furthering the goal of making Music in Plymouth a centerpiece in the shared life of those in the City of Plymouth by pledging their corporate support. That support continues today through financial contributions and leadership on the Board of Directors. Kennedy Vision has provided financial support for nearly four decades and has been represented on the Plymouth Civic League Board since 1984. Currently, Sherry Renne represents the company as chair of Friends of Music in Plymouth’s annual fund drive; she holds positions with many committees including Public Relations, Wine Tasting and Plymouth Parade. The PCL is grateful to Dr. Kennedy and Ms. Renne for the leadership and commitment of Kennedy Vision Health Center and looks forward to working in concert for many years to come.

Previous recipients of this prestigious award have been (2012) Curt Carlson & the Carlson Family Foundation, and Al Hilde, Jr. former mayor of Plymouth and founder, with his wife Jayne, of the Music in Plymouth Endowment Fund, (2013) Daikin McQuay, (now Daikin Applied), (2014) MFRA, Inc. (now Sambatek), (2015) Omega Lithograph, (2016) Anchor Bank (now Old National Bank), and SRF Consulting Group (2017) .

Event Participation Policy (Non-Affiliated Groups)

Annually, the Plymouth Civic League receives requests from various clubs, groups and organizations not affiliated with Music in Plymouth to participate in varying degrees in the event. A participation policy has been crafted to help Board members communicate to these organizations the position of the Board of Directors with regard to various forms of participation by outside groups. Read the Policy

PCL Board of Directors

  • Barbara Willis, President and Chair Music in Plymouth (Citizen Member)

  • Tom Barron, Vice President (Citizen Member)

  • Marilynn Paulson, Secretary (Citizen Member)

  • Becky Boe, Assistant Secretary (Citizen Member)

  • Ted Kopacek, Treasurer (Citizen Member)

  • Peter Albrecht (Citizen Member)

  • John Babcock (Satellite Industries, Inc.)

  • John Burall (Associated Bank)

  • Amy Cormier (KleinBank)

  • Rianna Cropp (Peterson, Whitaker & Bjork)

  • Andy Dahl (Citizen Member)

  • Greg Eklund (Citizen Member)

  • Dr. Jeremy Faue (Experience Wellness Chiropractic)

  • Elizabeth Ann Fetner (Trillium Woods)

  • Kari Hemp (City of Plymouth Park and Recreation)

  • Roger Janikowski (Citizen Member)

  • Tom Johnson (Citizen Member)

  • Smitha Katti (Citizen Member)

  • Anna Kenigsberg (TCF Bank)

  • Carrie Lumex (Old National Bank)

  • Kari Marshall (Citizen Member)

  • Alise McGregor (Little Newtons)

  • Paul Meyer (Paul Meyer Architects, Inc)

  • Michael Mohs (SRF Consulting Group)

  • Randy Olson (Citizen Member)

  • Barbara Patrin ( Citizen Member)

  • Katie Pickett (Citizen Member)

  • Mark Pieper (Citizen Member)

  • Sherry Renne (Kennedy Vision Health Center)

  • Tim Ryan (RJM Construction)

  • Kris St. Martin (CBIZ AiA)

  • Lori Shannon ( Park Nicollet)

  • Greg Skjoiten (US Bank)

  • Kelli Slavik (Citizen Member)

  • Gina Smith (Center National Bank)

  • Amber Stuart (Wells Fargo Bank)

  • Joni Sutton (Citizen Member)

  • Jay Trumbower (Citizen Member)

  • Tracey Vint (Citizen Member)

  • Lani Willis (Interfaith Outreach & Community Partners)

  • Mele Willis (Minnesota Orchestra)

  • Jeff Wosje (Mayor, City of Plymouth)

Board Directors Emeriti

  • Wes Clemens

  • Randy Geerdes

  • Kris St. Martin

  • LaVonne Sjoberg

  • Donna Snyder

The Plymouth Civic League is grateful for the support of community sponsors and the engagement of civic leaders in connection with Music in Plymouth.  The views and or opinions expressed by sponsors, exhibitors, or performers are solely those of the sponsors, exhibitors, or performers and do not reflect the views of Music in Plymouth or the Plymouth Civic League.